Log in
Log in
Or log in with
GoogleGoogle
Twitter Twitter
Facebook Facebook
Apple Apple     
Sign up
Or log in with
GoogleGoogle
Twitter Twitter
Facebook Facebook
Apple Apple     
News: Latest News
Latest NewsCompaniesMarketsEconomy & ForexCommoditiesInterest RatesBusiness LeadersFinance Pro.CalendarSectors 
All NewsEconomyCurrencies & ForexCryptocurrenciesCybersecurityPress Releases

REUTERS-SCHEDULE/…

08/02/2022 | 06:01pm EDT

Here are the top stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of XX GMT/XX ET. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning.

TOP STORIES

GLOBAL

BRITAIN-POLITICS/

UK leadership favourite Liz Truss U-turns on pay plan in first big misstep

British foreign minister Liz Truss, the front-runner to replace Boris Johnson as prime minister, was forced to backtrack on one of her most striking pledges a day after announcing it following a backlash from fellow Conservatives and opposition parties.

YEMEN-SECURITY/TRUCE

Yemen's warring parties agree only to renew two-month truce, U.N. says

Yemen's warring sides agreed to renew a two-month truce expiring on Tuesday, the United Nations envoy said, despite international pressure for an extended and expanded deal that would build on the longest stretch of relative calm in over seven years.

U.S.

USA-ELECTION/

Trump-backed candidates on ballot as voters in five U.S. states go to pollsHeadline in bold

Donald Trump's effort to play Republican kingmaker faced fresh tests on Tuesday as voters in five states cast ballots in high-profile races for U.S. Congress, governor and other offices ahead of November's midterm elections.

AFGHANISTAN-USA/BIDEN-STRATEGY

Zawahiri strike gives Biden counter-terrorism strategy boost, but concerns persist

The CIA drone strike that killed Al Qaeda leader Ayman al-Zawahiri delivered a long-sought win for U.S. President Joe Biden's counter-terrorism strategy, officials and experts said on Tuesday, but also sharpened concerns about militants' presence in Afghanistan.

BUSINESS

USA-FED/

Fed officials stay resolute on need to make policy more restrictive

A trio of Federal Reserve officials from across the policy spectrum signaled on Tuesday that they and their colleagues remain resolute and "completely united" on getting U.S. interest rates up to a level that will more significantly curb economic activity and put a dent in the highest inflation since the 1980s.

USA-ECONOMY/

U.S. job openings fall to nine-month low; labor market holds tightHeadline in bold

U.S. job openings fell by the most in just over two years in June as demand for workers eased in the retail and wholesale trade industries, but overall the labor market remains tight, allowing the Federal Reserve to continue raising interest rates.

ENTERTAINMENT

SIMON&SCHUSTER-M&A/PENGUIN RANDOM HOUSE

Horror author Stephen King says writers hurt by book publishing mergers

Horror author Stephen King said writers will have fewer places to shop their books if Penguin Random House is allowed to merge with Simon & Schuster, in testimony on Tuesday in a trial to determine if the deal may go forward.

APPEN-OUTLOOK/

Australian AI star Appen flags first-half loss, shares plunge

Australia's Appen Ltd which runs artificial intelligence training for Facebook, Google and Amazon.com Inc, said a spending slowdown by clients would bring its first half-year loss since listing, sending its shares tumbling.

SPORTS

TENNIS-DJOKOVIC/

Djokovic likely to miss U.S. Open over COVID-19 vaccine status

There is a petition circulating to allow Novak Djokovic to play at the U.S. Open but the Serbian appears likely to miss the entire North American hardcourt swing barring a sudden change in COVID-19 protocols in the United States and Canada.

SOCCER-GERMANY-BAY/LEWANDOWSKI

Lewandowski, Bayern clear air after rocky Barcelona move

New Barcelona striker Robert Lewandowski said farewell to his former Bayern Munich team mates and club staff during a brief visit to the Bundesliga champions' headquarters on Tuesday, despite his rocky departure and spat with Bayern bosses.

UPCOMING

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

TAIWAN-CENTRALAMERICA/

Central American development bank news conference in Taiwan

The Central American Bank for Economic Integration's President Dante Mossi holds news conference in Taiwan.

3 Aug 21:30 ET / 01:30 GMT

UKRAINE-CRISIS/RUSSIA-CHERNOGOLOVKA (PIX) (TV)

Chernogolovka targets 50% of Russian soft drinks market as Coke, Pepsi leave

As the world's largest soft drinks producers reduce their exposure to Russia, domestic player Chernogolovka is hoping to capitalise on the void left behind to seize 50% market share in the coming years, CEO Natalia Sakhnina told Reuters.

3 Aug

INFOWARS-BANKRUPTCY/

InfoWars parent begins bankruptcy amid dispute over Jones withdrawals

Free Speech Systems, the parent company of conspiracy website InfoWars, will begin its bankruptcy case in Texas court on Wednesday, seeking permission to use existing cash accounts and pay key vendors. FSS will be opposed by family members of children killed in the Sandy Hook elementary school massacre, who allege that Alex Jones took $62 million from the company while burdening it with $65 million additional debt owed to PQPR Holdings, another entity affiliated with Jones.

3 Aug 00:00 ET / 04:00 GMT

CVS HEALTH - RESULTS/

CVS Health Q2 Results

Pharmacy chain CVS Health Corp is set to report second quarter 2022 results before markets open on Wednesday. Investors will be interested in Omicron-related surge in COVID testing volumes at the company's stores, as well as the performance of its insurance and pharmacy benefit management business. Investors will also keep a close eye on any updates to the company's full year targets.

3 Aug 02:30 ET / 06:30 GMT

SPAIN-ECONOMY/PMI

Spain-PMI Services

3 Aug 03:15 ET / 07:15 GMT

GREECE-TREASURIES/

Debt agency auctions three-month T-bills

Greek debt agency auctions 625 mln euros of three-month T-bills. A previous sale in July was priced to yield 0.20%

3 Aug 05:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

ZIMBABWE-ECONOMY/SCRAPMETAL (PIX) (TV)

Impoverished Zimbabweans turn to scrap metal trade as inflation bites

Shepherd Chowe pushes a cart filled with tins, iron rods and other metallic objects down a dusty pathway in Hopley, a poor settlement about 15 km west of Zimbabwe's capital, Harare. He is among desperate Zimbabweans selling scrap metal for survival as the cost of living soars, piling pressure on a population already facing food shortages and high unemployment, and stirring memories of economic chaos years ago under the late leader Robert Mugabe's near four-decade rule.

3 Aug 05:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

REGENERON PHARMS-RESULTS/

Regeneron to report second-quarter 2022 earnings

Drugmaker Regeneron Pharmaceuticals is set to report its second-quarter results on Wednesday, before markets open. Investors will watch for sales growth of its blockbuster drugs Eylea, Dupixent, comments on its "next-generation" antibodies for COVID, and impact of FX headwinds.

3 Aug 06:30 ET / 10:30 GMT

UNDER ARMOUR-RESULTS/

Under Armour reports quarterly results

Under Armour Inc is expected to report the impact it is seeing on consumer demand from decades-high inflation and provide further updates on the effect of surging transportation and commodity costs.Investors will also be on the look out for an update from the company on its search for a new CEO.

3 Aug 06:55 ET / 10:55 GMT

MODERNA-RESULTS/

Moderna reports Q2 earnings

Moderna is expected to report second-quarter earnings on Wednesday. Investors will focus on any changes to the sales forecast for its COVID-19 vaccine, and comments on how the vaccine maker expects to drive growth once demand for COVID-19 vaccines begins to wane.

3 Aug 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

USA-TREASURY/REFUNDING (PIX)

U.S. Treasury issues Quarterly Refunding data

3 Aug 08:30 ET / 12:30 GMT

YUM! BRANDS-RESULTS/

Yum Brands Q2 Earnings

Taco Bell parent Yum Brands Inc is expected to post an increase in second-quarter same-store sales, boosted by strong online demand and higher prices. Investors will look out for comments on U.S. labor shortages, sales trends and the impact of inflation on its business.

3 Aug 08:30 ET / 12:30 GMT

USA-FED/HARKER

Philadelphia Federal Reserve Bank President Harker speaks on Fintech

Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia President Patrick Harker speaks on "Using Fintech to Promote Financial Inclusion" before hybrid Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia Sixth Annual Fintech Conference.

3 Aug 10:30 ET / 14:30 GMT

USA-TREASURY/ANNOUNCEMENT

Treasury announces sales: 3- & 10-year notes, 30-year bonds

Treasury Dept. announces sales of 3- and 10-year notes, 30-year bonds.

3 Aug 11:00 ET / 15:00 GMT

SCIENCE / TECHNOLOGY

HEALTH-LYME/VALNEVA

Vaccine makers take a shot at Lyme disease, decades after first flop

Poor sales triggered the withdrawal of an approved Lyme disease vaccine roughly two decades ago. Now, two drugmakers - Valneva and Pfizer - are convinced they wont suffer the same fate with a new shot for the tick-borne disease.

3 Aug

CONFLICTS / WAR / PEACE

LEBANON-BLAST/INVESTIGATION (EXPLAINER) (PIX) (TV)

EXPLAINER - Why are Lebanon's politicians fighting the Beirut port blast probe

Lebanon on Thursday marks the second anniversary of the Beirut port explosion which killed at least 215 people, wounded thousands and damaged swathes of the capital. An investigation into the 2020 Beirut blast has been stalled as a result of several lawsuits against the investigating judge, leaving families of the 230 victims with little closure two years since the third-largest non-nuclear explosion in history.

3 Aug

INDONESIA-USA/MILITARY (PIX) (TV)

Indonesia, United States host 'Super Garuda Shield' joint training exercise

Indonesia and the United States co-host the Super Garuda Shield joint-training exercise with Japan, South Korea, Australia and others, in South Sumatra. The two-week long drill will officially be opened by the Commander of the Indonesian National Armed Forces Andika Perkasa and the U.S. Army Pacific Command General Charles A. Flynn.

3 Aug

SRI LANKA-CRISIS/ (PIX)

Sri Lanka's new president makes key policy speech amid economic crisis

Sri Lankan President Ranil Wickremesinghe will likely lay out key priorities for his government in a speech in parliament on Wednesday, including stating immediate goals regarding the economy, political stability and social assistance. The island nation of 22 million people is currently suffering its worst economic crisis in seven decades.

3 Aug 01:00 ET / 05:00 GMT

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS

CAMBODIA-TURKEY/

Turkish foreign minister to meet with Cambodian counterpart

Turkish Foreign Minister Mevlüt Çavuolu will meet his Cambodian counterpart and current chair of ASEAN Prak Sokhonn in Cambodia.

3 Aug

KENYA-ELECTION/PEACE (PIX)

A Kenyan town unites to ward off election violence

Only a road separates between the towns of Kibigori and Chemose in western Kenya on a faultline between two of the nations largest ethnic groups the Luo and the Kalenjin who are fielding competing candidates in the Aug. 9 elections. Polls five years ago saw one resident killed and homes burned down in clashes between the rival groups. But this time residents have formed a group of peace ambassadors to address problems before they erupt into violence.

3 Aug

ASEAN-MEETING/ (PIX) (TV)

ASEAN foreign ministers meet, Myanmar crisis in focus

Foreign ministers of ASEAN hold meetings in Cambodia, where the crisis in Myanmar is expected to figure prominently, a week after the bloc's unusually strong rebuke of the junta over its executions of four activists and criticism for stalling on an ASEAN-led peace plan. Myanmar has declined to send a non-junta representative.

3 Aug

AUSTRIA-POLITICS/

Weekly Austrian cabinet meeting

Ministers hold a news conference after Austria's weekly cabinet meeting.

3 Aug 06:15 ET / 10:15 GMT

USA-ELECTION/PUBLIC-RECORDS

INSIGHT-Pro-Trump activists swamp election officials with sprawling records requests

Pro-Trump operatives are flooding local officials with public-records requests to seek evidence for the former presidents false stolen-election claims and to gather intelligence on voting machines and voters, adding to the chaos rocking the U.S. election system.

3 Aug 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

USA-CONGRESS/VOTING RIGHTS

U.S. Senate panel eyes election reform in post-Trump Washington

3 Aug 10:30 ET / 14:30 GMT

CANADA-GERMANY/

Canadian, German foreign ministers meet for a discussion in Montreal

Canadian Foreign Minister Melanie Joly and German counterpart Annalena Baerbock will meet at the Montreal chamber of commerce to discuss the international geopolitical situation and ties between the two countries.

3 Aug 11:30 ET / 15:30 GMT

CRIME / LAW / JUSTICE

EL SALVADOR-CRIME/ (PIX) (TV)

In El Salvador, discrepancy over deaths and mass graves alarms critics

In El Salvador, testimony from police officers and conflicting statistics on mass graves are leading critics to question if homicides in the Central American country are being fully reported as access to official information tightens.

3 Aug 09:00 ET / 13:00 GMT

ALEX JONES-DEFAMATION/TRIAL

Alex Jones defamation trial continues

Jones, founder of the Infowars radio show and webcast, is on trial in Texas to determine how much he must pay for spreading falsehoods about the killing of 20 children and six staff at Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown, Connecticut, on Dec. 14, 2012.

3 Aug 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT


© Reuters 2022
Stocks mentioned in the article
ChangeLast1st jan.
ALPHABET INC. -1.40% 98.74 Delayed Quote.-31.83%
APPEN LIMITED -3.56% 3.25 Delayed Quote.-70.88%
AUSTRALIAN DOLLAR / US DOLLAR (AUD/USD) -0.02% 0.6527 Delayed Quote.-8.49%
BRITISH POUND / US DOLLAR (GBP/USD) 0.06% 1.0856 Delayed Quote.-16.77%
CANADIAN DOLLAR / US DOLLAR (CAD/USD) 0.00% 0.7353 Delayed Quote.-6.16%
CVS HEALTH CORPORATION -1.48% 98.35 Delayed Quote.-3.23%
EURO / US DOLLAR (EUR/USD) -1.51% 0.969 Delayed Quote.-13.47%
INDIAN RUPEE / US DOLLAR (INR/USD) -0.26% 0.012308 Delayed Quote.-8.11%
META PLATFORMS, INC. -1.69% 140.41 Delayed Quote.-58.25%
MODERNA, INC. -0.55% 123.64 Delayed Quote.-51.32%
MSCI TAIWAN (STRD) -1.58% 487.575 Real-time Quote.-33.25%
NEW ZEALAND DOLLAR / US DOLLAR (NZD/USD) 0.00% 0.5744 Delayed Quote.-14.48%
PFIZER, INC. -1.10% 44.08 Delayed Quote.-25.35%
REGENERON PHARMACEUTICALS, INC. 1.32% 697.33 Delayed Quote.10.42%
UNDER ARMOUR, INC. -1.94% 7.6 Delayed Quote.-63.43%
US DOLLAR / RUSSIAN ROUBLE (USD/RUB) 1.42% 57.675 Delayed Quote.-20.07%
VALNEVA SE -5.05% 5.678 Real-time Quote.-76.82%
YUM BRANDS -0.13% 110.65 Delayed Quote.-20.21%
Latest news "Economy & Forex"
01:29pProminent Chinese commentator urges COVID experts to 'speak out'
RE
01:12pTropical Storm Ian to hit Cuba and become a hurricane
RE
12:31pItalian newly weds start married life casting votes
RE
12:21pUkraine mocks Russia's partial mobilization on Twitter
RE
12:19pIn Moldova's capital, thousands call for government's resignation
RE
12:19pSuicide bombing in Somalia kills one soldier and injures six
RE
12:17pPolice clash with people opposed to mobilisation in Russia's Dagestan
RE
12:02pCubans head to polls to vote on govt-sponsored code to legalize gay marriage, adoption
RE
11:59aFed can avoid 'deep pain' in inflation fight, Bostic says
RE
11:52aU.S. warns Putin of 'catastrophic' consequences if nuclear weapons used in Ukraine
RE
Latest news "Economy & Forex"