WASHINGTON (Reuters) - The U.S. Transportation Department said on Monday that seven major airlines are eligible to apply for five new daily roundtrip flights from Washington Reagan National airport.

On May 16, President Joe Biden signed legislation creating the new flights at the busy airport in Arlington, Virginia, outside the nation's capital. Applications must be filed by July 8 and comments on applications must be submitted by July 17.

American Airlines, Delta Air Lines < DAL.N>, United Airlines, Southwest Airlines, JetBlue, Air Canada and Alaska Airlines are eligible to apply, the Transportion Department said.

(Reporting by David Shepardson; Editing by Leslie Adler)