(Oslo, 20 August 2021) - Play Magnus Group and TV2 have signed an agreement for the live broadcasting of the Meltwater Champions Chess Tour for five additional years.

TV 2 is currently broadcasting tournaments from the 2021 season of the Tour and covered its predecessor, the Magnus Carlsen Chess Tour in 2020. The new long-term partnership will see TV 2 provide primetime coverage for the most prestigious circuit in online chess. 

 “This agreement serves as a strong stamp of approval for the entertainment value of professional online chess,” said Tour Director Arne Horvei.

Horvei added, “TV 2 has been a significant partner in both broadcasting and developing the Tour. The continued cooperation with such a reputable and innovative platform is also important in our work to distribute the Tour in the rest of the world.”

Sports Editor at TV 2, Vegard Jansen Hagen said, “The agreement secures TV 2 access to premium level chess for years to come. Chess has developed into a steadily growing tv sport in Norway. Partnering with the Meltwater Champions Chess Tour enables us to offer an engaging broadcast in a viewer friendly rapid chess format. The duration of the Tour and intervals between the tournaments also makes chess an almost year-round sport, featuring the top international Grandmasters.”

Jansen Hagen added, “The performance, titles and position of Magnus Carlsen is the foundation of chess as a tv sport in Norway, and we are proud to continue our cooperation with Play Magnus Group. The Meltwater Champions Chess Tour rights, in addition to the rights to Norway Chess, are long term rights enabling TV 2 to develop and grow our chess broadcast and coverage.”

Stars invited to compete in the Tour have included Norway’s superstar World Champion Magnus Carlsen and the hugely popular American chess player and streamer Hikaru Nakamura.

All matches in the Meltwater Champions Chess Tour are played on chess24.com and available to watch for free on the platform’s Twitch and YouTube channels.

 

Meltwater Champions Chess Tour 2022 Season Schedule:  

Tournament 1          Sat 19 Feb - Sun 27 Feb

Tournament 2          Sat 19 Mar - Sun 27 Mar

Major 1                     Wed 20 Apr - Thu 28 Apr

Tournament 3          Wed 18 May - Thu 26 May

Tournament 4          Tue 28 Jun - Wed 06 Jul

Major 2                     Mon 01 Aug - Tue 09 Aug

Tournament 5          Sat 17 Sep - Sun 25 Sep

Tournament 6          Fri 14 Oct - Sat 22 Oct

Final                          Fri 11 Nov - Sun 20 Nov

Disclosure regulation

This information is subject to the disclosure requirements pursuant to section 5-12 of the Norwegian Securities Trading Act.

Contacts

  • Arne Horvei, Tour Director, Play Magnus Group, +47 90 66 22 49, arne@playmagnus.com

About Play Magnus AS

Play Magnus Group is a global leader in the chess industry focused on providing premier digital experiences for millions of chess players and students. The company offers e-learning and entertainment services via its market leading brands: chess24, Chessable, iChess, New In Chess, Everyman Chess, CoChess, Aimchess, the Play Magnus App Suite, and the Meltwater Champions Chess Tour. The Group's mission is to grow chess to make the world a smarter place by encouraging more people to play, watch, study, and earn a living from chess. 


Play Magnus Group is listed on Euronext Growth Oslo under the ticker PMG. For more information visit pmg.me.

Attachments

  • Download announcement as PDF.pdf

© NTB Norway, source NTB English Regulatory Releases